2nd July 2020
' Nominations open '
5th July 2020
' NHS's 72nd birthday '
1st September 2020
' Nominations close '
23rd November 2020
' Shortlist announced '
7th July 2021
' Awards ceremony '

Darren Atkins, East Suffolk & North Essex NHS Foundation Trust

FNA-EE-Darren Atkins, East Suffolk & North Essex NHS Foundation Trust,

East of England

Darren Atkins is Chief Technology Officer (Automation and AI) at East Suffolk and North Essex NHS Foundation Trust (ESNEFT). His team’s pioneering work has been shortlisted in The Future NHS Award category at this year’s NHS Parliamentary Awards.

It recognises ESNEFT's success in using virtual robot technology to release time back to its hardworking staff. These efforts are also bringing real benefits to patients, which Darren describes as “so rewarding” and being shortlisted motivates the team to do even more.

Nominated by: Dr Therese Coffey MP, Sir Bernard Jenkin MP, Sandy Martin MP and Will Quince MP

Dr Therese Coffey MP:I am delighted that Darren Atkins and his colleagues from the East Suffolk & North Essex Foundation Trust ICT team have made the shortlist. The work they do locally is having a really positive impact on patient care. Since July 2018, virtual robots have given 3,800 hours back to the workforce, that’s 101 weeks’ worth of time to spend supporting patients.”